Why do we choose what we choose

A definition of your joy: This is your subjective disposition and affections for something.

Let us consider serving another person. Ideally, we want to serve others because we have joy in serving others.

So if I said that “if serving others brings you joy, then it is not selfish,” what do I mean? If you serve others because it brings you joy, what you are saying is that seeing other people’s needs met is delightful to you. If you serve others even when you don’t want to and have no concern for the person, then you are serving out of a sense of duty; you want to do the right thing. Your joy is in your accomplishment, and not in the other person.

So if I say, serving myself is what makes me happy; that is selfish. If I say, serving God makes me happy, I’m not selfish. The object of my joy is determinitive.

If I say, I always worry about what I want to do, when I want to do it, because being consumed with my own desires is what makes me happy; I’m selfish. Why? Because my joy revolves around me.

So, what pushes us to serve others? Pride, self-righteousness, sense of duty, or genuine concern for the person? Genuine concern means that you want to bring relief to the person because bringing relief to that person satisfies that longing in your heart to see relief in the person you are concerned about. In other words, it brings you joy to see them relieved. If what motivates you is the fact that serving them brings you joy, then, your joy is not a selfish motivation.

One could argue that every thing a person does is done because it is what they wanted to do. The question is “what did they want to do? What is the object of their joy? That is the question.

The Equation:

If I am the object of my happiness then I am selfish. If God is the object of my happiness then I am not.

Joy is my subjective affections toward an object.

When I do something for the glory of God, the question is “why am I concerned with the glory of God.” How do I feel about the glory of God?

Joy is that pull in whatever object that moves you to do something. When a person sees something that they want to do, then, there is a desire in them that arises and is drawn led into the “pull of the object.” Joy is what makes something attractive.

Here is an equation for Joy.

[x amount of longings, cravings, and desires] + [degree in which these longings are satisfied] = Amount of Joy experienced

In a choice, there is a push and a pull in every alternative. The pull comes from the object of our joy; and it has a supposed amount of satisfaction to offer us.

The push comes from our longing, not only for satisfaction in general, but the craving for a particular object; this particular craving exists because of the belief that it can supply the satisfaction that you crave.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

